MINUTES

DECEMBER 3, 2002 STUART, VIRGINIA

On December 3, 2002 a meeting of the Marine Resources Commission was held with the following present:

William A. Pruitt) Commissioner Chadwick Ballard, Jr.) Gordon M. Birkett Members of the Commission Russell Garrison Laura Belle Gordy F. Wayne McLeskey) Carl Josephson Assistant Attorney General Wilford Kale Senior Staff Adviser Jean Moss **Recording Secretary** Chief, Law Enforcement Col. Steve Bowman Deputy Chief, Law Enforcement Lt. Col. Lewis Jones Robert Grabb Chief, Habitat Management Environmental Engineer Sr. Mark Eversole Jay Woodward Environmental Engineer Sr.

others present included:

Tim Hayes	Richard Smith	Joly Mamoode
Ron Meadows	Ward Armstrong	Roscoe Reynolds
Deborah Buchanon	Greg Conner	Roger Martin
Paula Burnette	Margaret Aldridge	Darryl Holland
Jerry Hager	Alford Holland	Thomas Smith
Olan Horton	David Lowe	Olin Gallamore
Liza Field	Troy Strickland	Ed Jennings
Michele Banky	Steven Turner	Bobby Jo Wilson Jennings
John Cobler, Jr.	Shirley Holland	Jeffrey Scott
William Clark	Gary Barnard	Vicky Collins
Dave Carroll	Ronald Powers	Joan Holmes Blankenship
Ellen Fulcher	Jeff Clark	Collin Farmer
Dennis Newcomb		

And others.

* * * * * * *

Commissioner Pruitt called the meeting to order at approximately 7:00 p.m. The invocation was given by Associate Member Gordy. Commissioner Pruitt and Associate Member Gordy led the pledge of allegiance to the flag.

* * * * * * *

EAST TENNESSEE NATURAL GAS, #01-2113, requests authorization to install a total of 29 gas pipeline crossings under 25 jurisdictional, State-owned subaqueous stream and river beds in five counties in southwestern Virginia associated with the proposed Patriot Project. The pipeline expansion and extension project will traverse Smyth, Wythe, Carroll, Patrick, and Henry Counties and is protested by numerous residents along the proposed route from Tennessee to North Carolina.

During the public hearing, the Commission reviewed drawings, plans and photos of the proposal, all documents in the official record, and considered the testimony provided by staff. Additional testimony was offered by Mr. Rick Smith and Mr. Dennis Newcomer of East Tennessee Natural Gas, as well as the oral arguments provided by their counsel, Mr. Tim Hayes. In addition, 33 people spoke in opposition to the project, including Senator W. Roscoe Reynolds, Delegate Ward Armstrong, a representative of Congressman Virgil Goode, Mr. Ron Meadows of the Blue Ridge Coalition and other local representatives and citizens. At the conclusion of the public hearing, the Commission voted 4-1 to close the record and continue the matter until the December 17, 2002, meeting.

* * * * * * *

The Commission meeting adjourned at 12:00 p.m.

William A. Pruitt, Commissioner

Katherine V. Leonard, Recording Secretary